Contest Alert: Win a Copy of ‘The Storied Life of A.J. Fikry’

2 Apr

he Storied Life of A.J. Fikry is a really lovely novel. If you love books, reading and dream of owning a bookstore, I think you will really enjoy this novel.

From the book’s description:

A.J. Fikry’s life is not at all what he expected it to be. His wife has died, his bookstore is experiencing the worst sales in its history, and now his prized possession, a rare collection of Poe poems, has been stolen. Slowly but surely, he is isolating himself from all the people of Alice Island—from Chief Lambiase, the well-intentioned police officer who’s always felt kindly toward him; from Ismay, his sister-in-law, who is hell-bent on saving A.J. from his dreary self; from Amelia, the lovely and idealistic (if eccentric) Knightley Press sales rep who persists in taking the ferry to Alice Island, refusing to be deterred by A.J.’s bad attitude. Even the books in his store have stopped holding pleasure for him. These days, A.J. can only see them as a sign of a world that is changing too rapidly.

And then a mysterious package appears at the bookstore. It’s a small package, though large in weight—an unexpected arrival that gives A.J. the opportunity to make his life over, the ability to see everything anew. It doesn’t take long for the locals to notice the change overcoming A.J., for the determined sales rep Amelia to see her curmudgeonly client in a new light, for the wisdom of all those books to become again the lifeblood of A.J.’s world. Or for everything to twist again into a version of his life that he didn’t see coming.

As surprising as it is moving, The Storied Life of A.J. Fikry is an unforgettable tale of transformation and second chances, an irresistible affirmation of why we read and why we love.

The book is featured in today’s edition of  The Afterword Reading Society, in the National Post.

To be entered in this contest, please leave a comment below. I will draw the winner at 6pm (EST) tomorrow, April 3rd. So, QUICK! Comment now to be entered.

Thank you, and good luck!

18 Responses to “Contest Alert: Win a Copy of ‘The Storied Life of A.J. Fikry’”

  1. Jocelyn H 2 April 14 at 6:33 pm #

    I’ve heard this book described as a love letter to readers. Sounds good to me! I would love to read it!

    • Jennifer Dawson Oakes 2 April 14 at 6:36 pm #

      That is a great description for the novel, Jocelyn! Good luck in the contest. :)

      • Jocelyn H 2 April 14 at 6:39 pm #

        Thanks. :)

  2. Naomi 2 April 14 at 7:02 pm #

    I love books, reading, and I dream of owning a bookstore, and I have this book on hold at the library right now. It would be even better to have it on my shelf! Thanks for the chance!

    • Jennifer Dawson Oakes 2 April 14 at 7:18 pm #

      I think it would be a great addition to your book collection, Naomi! It seems like it will be a comfort read I return to again and again. Good luck in the contest! :)

  3. lauratfrey 2 April 14 at 7:11 pm #

    Saw you in The Afterword. I’m in it next week! This sounds like a good comfort read.

    • Jennifer Dawson Oakes 2 April 14 at 7:18 pm #

      Hi Laura! I love participating in The Afterword. I just described this novel as a ‘comfort read’. Good luck in the contest! :)

  4. Kathleen R 2 April 14 at 9:09 pm #

    I’ve been looking for some inspiration on what to read next. I think this might be just what I’m in the mood for. Thanks for the chance to win a copy!

  5. Eleanor 2 April 14 at 9:10 pm #

    I saw this contest in my newsfeed & since I admire the source I had to check it out. What an enticing description! I feel the universe is conspiring to bring me out of my reading hiatus. I could use good literary escape right about now. Thank you for the lead!

    • Jennifer Dawson Oakes 3 April 14 at 6:30 am #

      Thank you, Eleanor. I was in a reading slump earlier this year, and this novel definitely helped break me out of it. :)

  6. Andrea Modolo (@Book_lover1988) 3 April 14 at 9:00 am #

    This definitely sounds like a book I want to add to my collection! It seems adorable and I absolutely can’t wait to read it! Thanks for bringing this one to my attention :D

    • Jennifer Dawson Oakes 3 April 14 at 9:05 am #

      Hi Andrea!! Thanks for your comment, and interest in the book. I really loved it a lot. Good luck in the contest!! :)

  7. R 3 April 14 at 2:32 pm #

    This sounds like a wonderful read! I’d love to be added to the contest!

  8. Jennifer Dawson Oakes 3 April 14 at 5:32 pm #

    congratulations to naomi, who was chosen in a draw as the winner of the contest!! :)

  9. Pat Williams 5 April 14 at 10:18 am #

    I recently lost my husband of 50 years to cancer. I’ve dropped out of community activities and just want to be alone. Reading used to bring me comfort and joy…I’m hoping this book will bring me back to my happy place.

    • Jennifer Dawson Oakes 5 April 14 at 10:22 am #

      Hi Pat. I am so sorry to her about the loss of your husband. While I do love The Storied Life of A.J. Fikry very much, you may find it a difficult read right now as cancer does appear in the story. Even though this is a part of the story, the overriding feeling from the book is one of love and comfort. But I can see how the book would need to be read at the right time. (The contest closed already, and our winner has been chosen. I am sorry you didn’t hear about this before the contest closed.)

      If you would like to come up with a list of reading suggestions for you, I would be happy to help, if I can.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,274 other followers

