My Most Anticipated Reads For Spring & Summer (And Brief Hiatus Announcement)

30 Apr
Photo: Aude Van Ryn

Photo: Aude Van Ryn

First, a quick explanation about my planned hiatus: Some health issues will have me in hospital and out of commission for a time. So, I won’t be able to share any reviews or news for a little while. In my absence, I hope you will tell me all about the books you are reading and enjoying. I always love to hear great recommendations from fellow book lovers and given I will have some extensive downtime – your suggestions will be particularly welcomed right now.

So — please leave a comment and share some reading suggestions with me or tell me about the books you are most anticipating this spring and summer!! (I truly would love to hear from you.)

Before taking my break, I thought I would share with you some titles I am really looking forward to this spring and summer. (One resource I love and look forward to each year is The Millions: Most Anticipated. This is a giant list of books and there are always a large number of titles that hold appeal for me.)

Anyway…onto my hotly anticipated books:

* And The Mountains Echoed by Khaled Hosseini – Hosseini’s wonderful novel The Kite Runner was an amazing and emotional reading experience for me several summers ago.

* Americanah by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie – with each of her novels, I become more and more intrigued with this writer. This could be a huge book for her.

* Transatlantic by Colum McCann – McCann is another writer I respect and I am quite curious about this new one.

* Night Film by Marisha Pessl – only her second novel, it’s been delayed a couple of times and is being much-hyped. I didn’t love her first book, Special Topics in Calamity Physics, though I did like it and was impressed by her potential.

* The Autistic Brain by Temple Grandin – Grandin is a bit of a hero in this house so I am keen to read her new book which was released today!

* Paris by Edward Rutherfurd – Rutherfurd is always great for an immersive and escapist reading experience. This 832 page tome should be a wonderful summer read!

* Gioconda from Lucille Turner – a debut that is getting me quite excited: a) I love literary fiction debuts; b) historical fiction!!

* The Rosie Project by Graeme Simsion – okay, the word ‘screwball’ in the description is appealing. And, if I am being shallow – i love the cover design. So yes! Sometimes I judge a book by its cover.

New Canadian Books Making Me Drooly:

* In Calamity’s Wake by Natalee Caple – this is silly but the word ‘calamity’ has always been one of my favourites and I have long been taken with the legend of Calamity Jane. So…this book really is a must read for me.

* The Hungry Ghosts by Shyam Selvadurai – this book sounds amazing!

* Bone & Bread by Saleema Nawaz – sounds fascinating and possibly has the potential to be a novel that can crossover to mature YA readers.

* The Family Took Shape by Shashi Bhat – a debut novel that has really captured my attention! (In case you didn’t note earlier in the post: I am such a huge fan of literary debuts. It’s like a genre unto itself for me!)

* Caught by Lisa Moore – Moore is such a compelling storyteller. Any novel she writes is going to be worth reading!

* Maxine by debut novelist Claire Wilkshire – As we have already established…I love a debut novel. A debut novel from Newfoundland-based writer makes me very excited!

* Miracles of Ordinary Men by Amanda Leduc – I have heard such great things about this book!

* Studio Saint-Ex by Ania Szado – I actually received an advanced copy of the novel from Penguin Canada (thank you!!) and devoured it. Szado’s well researched imaginings are immersive and transportive. I really loved this book and have been working on a proper review for the novel.

* River of Stars by Guy Gavriel Kay – I think this is going to be a great read. Kay is a lovely man and cares deeply about the research he puts into each of his historical fiction novels.

If you are looking for more reading suggestions, Publishers Weekly has also posted a fairly comprehensive list of books – there’s sure to be something for every reader here.

So – tell me what you are most looking forward to reading over the next couple of months?? I really would love to hear about all the great reading you have planned.

 

 

8 Responses to “My Most Anticipated Reads For Spring & Summer (And Brief Hiatus Announcement)”

  1. Steph 30 April 13 at 8:44 pm #

    Let’s keep in touch, though, okay? We have each other’s emails now…

    I’m looking forward to Hosseini’s book too. Very much so. If you haven’t yet read A Thousand Splendid Suns, do. I think I liked that one even more than The Kite Runner.

    And yes, tsk, tsk. Where are those Canadians? :) Still Lisa Moore’s Caught on your list. It’s a goodie.

    • Jennifer Dawson 30 April 13 at 8:55 pm #

      Thanks, Steph!

      I own A Thousand Splendid Suns, not sure why I haven’t read it yet! Though I suspect it’s because I loved The Kite Runner so much I am having 2nd book fear. This happens with me sometimes. It has happened with Joseph Boyden, Elizabeth Hay and Katherine Govier’s books too!! I get panicky at the thought of not loving a subsequent novel as much as the first one. And is heightened if I have had the opportunity of meeting the author. Then, I REALLY want to love the book and get too scared to read it. Weird, eh?

      Yes — my Canadian list is in progress, a bit of a sifting exercise. It might even turn into its own post — if I can muster the energy/time. Glad to hear about Moore’s newest. I love her! :)

  2. Claire 'Word by Word' 2 May 13 at 5:06 am #

    Wishing you a swift recovery and so sorry to hear you will be out of action for a while. That’s a great list and I hope they all find their way to you, to brighten the days ahead.

    I’m really looking forward to Americanah and Transatlantic and Hosseini’s latest as well. I was really happy to find a copy of Transatlantic in the post for me (a novelty for me) from The Guardian after they featured my NW by Zadie Smith review, so delighted to have the hardback to curl up with.

    But the one I am really anticipating isn’t a newbie, but Orhan Pamuk’s Istanbul as my 2 children and I will be visiting the city for the first time ever next week and meeting up with my father and his wife in the middle of their travels.

    All the best, hope you’ll be able to read well
    Claire

    • Jennifer Dawson 2 May 13 at 3:25 pm #

      Thank you so much, Claire. I appreciate your good wishes and that you stopped by to read my post. Ooh – lucky score on the copy of NW. That’s excellent. Wow! I hope you hav an amazing trip to Turkey! I have only read Snow. there was a lot of it. The snow, I mean. Heh. While I didn’t love that particular novel, there was something very intriguing about Pamuk’s style of writing so he’s one of whom I definitely want to read more. Happy travels to you and your children! :)

  3. Shannon 2 May 13 at 10:00 pm #

    Wishing you health and a speedy recovery. Thanks for the recommended reads.
    Take care

  4. Shashi 28 May 13 at 3:51 pm #

    Thank you for blogging about my book! I hope you enjoy it!
    Shashi

    • Jennifer Dawson 7 June 13 at 6:45 pm #

      Oh you’re welcome, Shashi. I am really looking forward to the read. Thanks for stopping in.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,228 other followers

